Gospelization

The movement of notes, drafts, info …

Prayer in Ecclesiastes Overview Part 5

Leave a comment

Time @ roughly 1:06-1:08

<Ecc 4:4-11>
4 And I saw that all labor and all achievement spring from man’s envy of his neighbor. This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.
5 The fool folds his hands
       and ruins himself.
6 Better one handful with tranquillity
       than two handfuls with toil
       and chasing after the wind.
7 Again I saw something meaningless under the sun:
8 There was a man all alone;
       he had neither son nor brother.
       There was no end to his toil,
       yet his eyes were not content with his wealth.
       "For whom am I toiling," he asked,
       "and why am I depriving myself of enjoyment?"
       This too is meaningless—
       a miserable business!
9 Two are better than one,
       because they have a good return for their work:
10 If one falls down,
       his friend can help him up.
       But pity the man who falls
       and has no one to help him up!
11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
       But how can one keep warm alone?
12 Though one may be overpowered,
       two can defend themselves.
       A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

Lord, my lifetime must not be selfish: giving is receiving
Lord, my lifetime must not compare: my neighbor’s success is my joy
Lord, my lifetime must not be proud: my success is the blessed portion of my neighbor
Lord, my lifetime must become my neighbor’s blessing
Lord, my lifetime must acquire eternal friends

The above touched me so much that I hear it many times, because I am in deep anguish of not being to love my neighbors because of arrows of motives. Unless I made a one-time prayer of covenant or resolution fully understanding gospel/promise/Emmanuel of these, I will always go in and fall out from my best of friends or coworkers God has placed beside me.

Leave a Reply

